Frequently Asked Questions

Let's get some of your questions answered!

Commonly Asked Questions

How old do I have to be to join ChatFriends?
ChatFriends requires everyone to be at least 13 years old before they can create an account. Users found to be below this age will have their account banned. If you suspect a members or guest is below this age, please report their post and username to a moderator, or through our online contact form.
What features are available to VIP members?
With a ChatFriends VIP account you can: search and play YouTube videos, search & upload Giphy's, send & receive text and voice messages, upload photos in private messages, member search, draw with our crazy paint palette, unlimited username changes, change text and username colours, upload static/animated profile background covers, create private rooms, add mood statuses, username effects. Please see our VIP page for more information.
How do I report inappropriate or abusive members or posts on ChatFriends?
We are sorry you have had a bad experience on ChatFriends and we always want to help. You can report a post by using our flag system. Each post contains a flag and when pressed will give you an option to why you are reporting it. To report a member, please use our contact form whilst logged in. After mailing your report, we suggest you add this member to your ignore list. You can do this by clicking on their profile, and then clicking the action button. Once clicked, you will be able to then press the ignore button.
I have forgotten my ChatFriends password?
If you have forgotten your password, you can use our password recovery on the login page. Our system will then assign you a temporary password to login(check spam/junk folder). As soon as you have logged in, you can then change your password from your profile page. For member security, passwords cannot be changed any other way other then through our password recovery system.
How do I send a private message?
For safety reasons we have turned off our private messages by default. This helps protect our younger members from being messaged by unknown users. To send a private message, you will have to purchase a VIP membership with a verified Paypal account. This can be done by pressing the VIP button on the left hand side tab of any chat room.
Why is your chat room safer than others?
ChatFriends is one of the safer chat room communities online. We only allow members basic access to certain features, for example: private messages and private image uploads are turned off to non-VIP users (guests and basic members). For more information on how we protect our users, please visit our Online Safety page.
Why can't I login with my username or password?
New profiles that have not been completed after registration, will be deleted from the ChatFriends database. New Profiles that have been completed, but are inactive, will be deleted after 90 days.
Why have I been banned from ChatFriends?
There could be several reasons why you have been banned from ChatFriends. These can include; being from a country that is not permitted to use ChatFriends, you have been warned prior of abusive posts or messages, creating multiple user accounts, or you have uploaded content which is offensive and not allowed within our site. All Mutes/Kicks/Bans will contain a reason for this action.
How do I become a moderator for ChatFriends?
To become a moderator, you will have to be a ChatFriends VIP member and have a good and long chat room rapport. Moderators are then voted in by our fellow moderators.
Can anyone see my email address?
Your email address is perfectly safe and nobody can see it (not even our moderators can see it). Regarding email security, will never sell or release your email to anyone!
Can I use a VPN or Proxy connection?
For the protection of our members, we do not allow users to hide their IP address! This helps ChatFriends remain a safe and secure community and should the need arise, we can offer a users IP address to local serving constabularies.
Why does it say my username is not allowed when registering at ChatFriends?
To maintain good chat room practice we have blocked certain derogatory words and phrases from being used at ChatFriends.
How do I delete my ChatFriends account?
You can close your ChatFriends account by going to your profile and choosing options, then delete account. Your account will be then closed after 7 days. You can cancel this request at any time by going to options, and selecting cancel.